Last weekend took place the legendary 24-hour marathon at Le Mans, which was already the 79th time in its history. The most powerful LMP1 class won the factory Audi team on the prototype Audi R18 TDI.
Of the three cars the team from Ingolstadt to go the distance lost two, and lost – in the truest sense of the word. Just one hour after the start of the race in a terrible accident was Allan McNish, crawling on the circle of the Ferrari 458 Anthony Beltoise, and the write-off of the night was broken by a car driven by Mike Rockenfeller was.
Fortunately, in both cases, the pilots did not receive serious injuries, and the remaining crew of Audi’s face Marcel Fässler, André Lotterer and Benoit Trelyuye continued to lead the race and was able to bring to a victorious finish.
The victory in the Le Mans this was for the German team in the history of the tenth and the fifth in the last four years. The main rivals of the French team Team Peugeot Total took place from second to fourth, and finished second behind the leader of all the crew of 13.8 seconds.
In the LMP2 class victory went to the crew of Team Greaves Motorsport prototype Zytec Z11 SN, and in the category GTEP victory celebrated team Corvette Racing, acting under the starting number 73.